It’s time to speak up.

Elena Tucker
5 min readJun 17, 2020

When I started writing for Medium, I was determined to carefully avoid “going political” in my blogs, and for the most part, I have succeeded. I firmly believe that there is nothing more polarizing, more divisive than politics, especially under the current, horrible administration. But there are times when issues some consider political transcend mere politics. These are the times that I cannot remain silent. So, I would say the following blog is more about basic morals than it is about politics, as much as some readers might make it out to be.

The reasons that I can no longer remain silent are that I am a Jew and that I am a mother. As a Jew, the Torah and the ethics of my people command me to stand up for the oppressed, and to treat even the stranger as “one of us. For you were strangers in the land of Egypt.”

Elie Wiesel wrote, “I swore never to be silent whenever and wherever human beings endure suffering and humiliation. We must always take sides. Neutrality help the oppressor, never the victim. Silence encourages the tormentor, never the tormented.”

As a mother, I understand how each of us worries about our children. With the everyday worries about our kid’s schoolwork, health, and everyday safety, no mother should have the additional worry about someone taking their child’s life simply because of the color of their skin.

--

--

Elena Tucker

Writer and storyteller, immigrant, wife, mom, knitter, collector of jokes, lover of cheap, sweet wine.